Book Reviews

The Edith Trilogy by Frank Moorhouse (Grand Days, Dark Palace and Cold Light)

The three books of Frank Moorhouse’s Edith Trilogy (Grand Days, Dark Palace and Cold Light) follow the adult life of the ambitious, and somewhat eccentric, Edith Campbell Berry.

As a young woman in the 1920s, Edith travelled from Australia to Geneva to join the League of Nations, and stayed there through WW2 until the collapse of the League in 1950.  By the third book, she mas moved back to Australia and went to the developing city of Canberra where her life changed – yet again.

Edith is a mostly likeable character and the people she mixes with – real and imagined – are interesting and often quirky.   But these books are more than just about Edith and her ambitions and private life. They are set in times of upheaval and change and that, to me, is a big part of what makes these books such a good read.  But, be warned, you have to be strong to read them – they are big books!

Wendy Kaye
Tom Keneally Centre volunteer

The Edith Trilogy by Frank Moorhouse (Grand Days, Dark Palace and Cold Light)

When you join SMSA as member, you get a wide range of benefits.

Access to the SMSA Library

We are home to a unique collection of books, a highlight being our Mystery and Crime section.

Able to borrow from the Tom Keneally Centre

We are honoured to be the home of Tom Keneally’s personal collection of books, many of which have been used as research for his own works.

Access to member only events

Join a members group, share your passions, learn new skills, make new friends and get involved.

Access to member only activities such as members groups

We provide a variety of member only events, these are relaxed social occasions to have fun and make new friends.

Join as a Member

Subscribe to stay up-to-date