Book Reviews

Goodnight Sweet Prince by David Dickinson

The first instalment of the Lord Francis Powerscourt murder investigative series,  Goodnight Sweet Prince, starts in 1891 England with the murder of a member of the Royal Family and ends multiple corpses later. With a killer on the loose, Lord Francis enlists the aid of several colleagues from his Army Intelligence days in India (and his own sisters…) to gather information as quickly as possible and catch the killer before he strikes again.

This book is a wonderful introduction to the world of Victorian England and Lord Francis himself. A former soldier, a respected private investigator who is entrusted by the highest authorities in the land to solve a murder with speed and discretion. Lord Francis’s character is deeply drawn and full of surprises.

The Powerscourt series is very similar to the Barbara Cleverly Inspector Joe Sandilands series. The tone, the pace of story, the depth of characters, are comforting and welcome.

Find Goodnight Sweet Prince in the SMSA Library Catalogue


Reviewed by

Belinda Coombs
Mystery and Crime Reading Group

Goodnight Sweet Prince by David Dickinson

When you join SMSA as member, you get a wide range of benefits.

Access to the SMSA Library

We are home to a unique collection of books, a highlight being our Mystery and Crime section.

Able to borrow from the Tom Keneally Centre

We are honoured to be the home of Tom Keneally’s personal collection of books, many of which have been used as research for his own works.

Access to member only events

Join a members group, share your passions, learn new skills, make new friends and get involved.

Access to member only activities such as members groups

We provide a variety of member only events, these are relaxed social occasions to have fun and make new friends.

Join as a Member

Subscribe to stay up-to-date